Beth has been working towards baptism since sometime in January. Today, we have a date for the event: August 1. Our pastor will be coming to our house Tuesday evening to discuss this, and Beth could not be more excited. We’re all pretty happy for her!

After church today Beth, David, and I took Penny down to Sandogardy Pond. It had been nearly a month since we had been there, and I noted six new blooms had opened:

Swamp Candles (Lysimachia terrestris)

Swamp Candles (Lysimachia terrestris)


Grass-leaved Arrowhead (Sagittaria graminea)

Grass-leaved Arrowhead (Sagittaria graminea)


Pickerelweed (Pontederia cordata)

Pickerelweed (Pontederia cordata)


Dwarf St Johnswort (Hypericum mutilum)

Dwarf St Johnswort (Hypericum mutilum)


Pipewort (Eriocaulon aquaticum)

Pipewort (Eriocaulon aquaticum)


Water Lobelia (Lobelia dortmanna)

Water Lobelia (Lobelia dortmanna)

Penny spent a little time in the pond, but that’s OK, because the water there is fairly clean (I wouldn’t drink it though). On the way back from the pond though, she found a huge mudhole and plopped down in it and panted contentedly. She was a mess! Here feet were completely black. When we got to the house I hosed her down, and she didn’t much care for that. However, I would rather suffer her objections than those of my lovely bride had I let the dog in the house like that!

