Today was the first day of Market Days, when the city of Concord closes Main Street off to vehicular traffic and vendors (et al) set up on the street. Va and Beth came into town, and we walked the length of Main Street checking it all out.

Some guy is opening a “green” energy store on Pleasant Street “soon” and I stopped and spoke with him for a bit. I would really like to get some solar water heating going on at my house. The other thing I’m interested in is getting a photo-voltaic panel on the roof of the Pathfinder trailer so we can keep a car battery in there, and keep it charged. Then we could run the lights and have an AC inverter to charge our laptops with. I wouldn’t want to try to run anything off the PV panel, because that is cost prohibitive. But for about $200 or so, we could trickle charge a car battery no problem. The thought of being able to charge cell phones and camera batteries on PF campouts is very appealing to me.

Beth wanted to ride the train, so I bought her a ticket.

Market Days Fun

Market Days Fun


She appears to have enjoyed herself, so I guess that was $2.00 not totally wasted.

I also bought a couple of books. The Worst-case Scenario Almanac (which depicts a brown bear exiting a tent), and True North which recounts the race to the North Pole. I have long been fascinated with the polar expeditions of the early 20th century (Shackleton’s story is quite gripping). Hopefully, I will find (or make) some time to read these soon.

When I got home I hunted around the yard for flowers, when I happened to notice one with the most excellent name I have ever heard for a plant of any type: the Square-stemmed Monkey Flower. Yay!

Square-stemmed Monkey Flower (mimulus ringens)

Square-stemmed Monkey Flower (mimulus ringens)

A friend of mine breeds poodles and had been naming them after flowers. She knew I was well-versed in the flora of New England, so she asked me for a suggestion. So I suggested Square-stemmed Monkey Flower. Surprisingly, she choose some other name. I work with a guy whose wife had a baby about two weeks ago, and they are using the flower theme too (Lily and Poppy). He did not ask me for a suggestion, but if he had…

