Tonight when I got home I grabbed my camera and tripod and went around looking for blooms. I did find two that I missed yesterday, but more importantly, I came across a few other photo-worthy items (at least by my standards).

Banded Net-wing (Calopteron reticulatum)

Banded Net-wing (Calopteron reticulatum)


Unless I be mistaken, this is a Banded Net-wing (Calopteron reticulatum). I’ve seen (and photographed) these before, but I thought this shot came out pretty OK.

Then I went to the catchment pond and saw three green frogs sitting in the water. It doesn’t take much to stir up the mud, so they must have not been moving for a while. See how clear the water is?

Green Frog (Rana clamitans) in need of some deet.

Green Frog (Rana clamitans) in need of some deet.


But what I like most about this frog picture is that he is being bitten behind the right eye by a mosquito! This is not the first picture I’ve taken of a green frog getting bitten by a mosquito, but it is the one with the best focus.

