Today at lunch time I took a walk to look for blooms. I took a lap around my property doing the same thing when I got home. I logged 45 species in bloom. There were a couple of plants I have not yet identified, but I’m thinking that shouldn’t be too hard to do. In fact… I just ID’d one, so let’s make that 46 blooms logged today.

Several of these probably bloomed for the first time this season while I was away in KY. The Jewelweed (Impatiens capensis) and the Wintergreen (Gaultheria procumbens) almost certainly fall into this category. I got a fairly decent shot of the Jewelweed:

Jewelweed (Impatiens capensis)

Jewelweed (Impatiens capensis)

I didn’t get any good pictures in the woods at home today though. It was clouding up pretty seriously and I didn’t have my tripod on me. The clouds mandated longish exposures, and long exposures mandate a tripod (at least for me). I did come across a really cool slime mold though. It was growing at the base of a sapling, and I was able to put the camera on the ground to get this shot:

Slime mold

Slime mold


Cool stuff!

