Here are some bird photos I took at Dad’s house. I don’t have a lot of photos of birds, and I will say that taking pictures of them is a LOT harder than taking pictures of bugs, and especially of plants. With bugs I can get pretty close, and plants pretty much stay still unless with wind is blowing. Birds on the other hand, always move with quick jerks. They never do anything slowly. Must be a metabolism thing, I dunno. Birds also don’t let you get close to them, so macro photography is right out (unless the bird is dead, but I don’t really want dead bird photos).

Most of these photos were shot from some 30 feet or so away, and all had the zoom pretty much maxed out. Most were also through glass. I did clean the glass first, but I also missed a few spots here and there, and they all show up (not in these necessarily, but in some of the others). Anyhow, here they are:

Indigo Bunting

Indigo Bunting


Redwinged Blackbird

Redwinged Blackbird


White-breasted Nuthatch

White-breasted Nuthatch


Chipping Sparrow (left) and Goldfinch (right)

Chipping Sparrow (left) and Goldfinch (right)

When I get home I intend to remove a screen, pull back a curtain, and set up a bird feeder. Then I need to buy some sunflowers and maybe a suet block. We’ll see what happens!

