I went back to work today. When people asked how I was feeling, I told them I was 74% better. I was asked then if I could be more specific, so I said, “I’m 73.84% better. (I rounded).” Ha ha.

I am feeling much better than I was, but I’m still not all the way back. I was exhausted by lunch time, but I pressed on and was actually somewhat productive.

When I got home I went out looking for blossoms, specifically, for some Dewdrop (Dalibarda repens). I wrote a couple of days ago that I had found one in bloom, but that it was in bad shape. It had only two of its five petals, and that’s still the case. But I also found another today:

Dalibarda repens

Dalibarda repens


This is one of the nicer photos I have taken, and it is certainly the best I have ever taken of this species. This is another flower with white petals that blooms in shady places, and for me, those are very challenging to photograph. I had the camera in the fully manual mode so I could control the aperture and exposure time. I also had it mounted on a tripod and gave it the two-second delay so that it could settle once I let go of the “take the picture, please” button. I maxed out the f-stop so I could get the stamens and the rear petals in focus simultaneously, and I think it came out pretty OK. I uploaded it to the Commons and then used it as the main picture in the Wikipedia article. Then I did the one thing I should know better than to do. I nominated it as maybe a quality image on the Commons. If this is a decent photo, it will get approved. Otherwise (and more likely), I will be told with brutal honesty why my photo sucks so bad. Why on earth did I nominate it?

I also was surprised to find the Cow-wheat (Melampyrum lineare) in bloom today.

Melampyrum lineare

Melampyrum lineare


This flower always seems to be white on the outside and a creamy yellow on the inside. Not much else to say about it I guess?

