Sometime early this week, I managed to inhale a cloud of sawdust. Some of it lodged in my sinus, and that has led to a nasty sinus infection. For me, a sinus infection is always caused by a foreign particle getting lodged in the snoot.

It was raining all morning and most of the afternoon today. I felt like today would have been a great day for me to star in a flu remedy commercial. I could have donned my raincoat and walked out into the maelstrom heading for the drug store to buy some Floobegone®. I certainly felt like the guys in the flu med commercials.

Instead, this evening I bought a neti pot. In case you don’t know what one is, it looks like a little teapot, but you fill it with a warm saline solution and pour it into the nasal cavity. Eww. But that seems like exactly the right treatment for dislodging a particle of sawdust. I have self-treated twice now, and I’m already feeling a bit better. Maybe this will do the trick.

Sorry for a second gross post in a row, but you’re going to get a little of that here.

In other grossness, I found a half-decayed pickerel frog (Rana palustris) in the backyard today. Of course I did take a picture, but I’ll spare you and not post it here. This is only the second one of these I’ve seen (not counting any times I may have seen one in the past and not known what it was or have sufficient curiosity to find out). Instead, I’ll post a picture of the one I saw last year (which was alive and well).

Pickerel Frog

Pickerel Frog

