False Lily of the Valley (Maianthemum canadense)

False Lily of the Valley (Maianthemum canadense)


The False Lily of the Valley (Maianthemum canadense) opened today. I’ve been keeping an eye on these, and they were most definitely not open yesterday. Most of them still aren’t.

I thought the columbine would open today, but it did not. Maybe tomorrow. We have a viburnum at the end of the driveway (near the road), and it opened today as well. I’m not sure what kind it is, but I’ve decided to call it Viburnum carlesii (Koreanspice Viburnum). That was the closest thing I found after ten minutes of searching, but there are a lot of different types of viburnums, and I didn’t come close to looking at them all. I could be wrong. Here it is though:

A cultivated viburnum

A cultivated viburnum

Today Va and I went to have our bloodwork done, and afterwards, we went to McDonalds for breakfast. I had a hot chocolate. And when I say hot, I mean 211.99°F. I took a sip and raised blisters on the roof of my mouth. It still hurts. Yeah, I know – sue them.

I can’t figure out why on earth they would keep it that hot. Consider the advantages: It’s still hot when you drink the last drop an hour later. OK, that’s the only one I can think of. Now consider the disadvantages: I will never, ever buy any sort of hot beverage from them again. Ever. Risk of lawsuits. Scalding it can’t make it taste better. It costs more money to maintain it at a high temperature (I’m sure that keeping that stuff just under the boiling point wastes enough energy to run a small city). So why do it? The mind boggles (as the palate blisters and peels)!

