Today I had to leave work a little early to get a physical. Other than the tick bite visit I had last week (or so), I haven’t had a check-up in a while. Maybe seven years? When the doctor asked me if I smoked, I said, “No.” She asked if I had ever smoked, and I said “Nope! But it looks like a lot of fun, so I’m thinking about taking up the habit.” She understood that I was merely jesting. I have to get some bloodwork done now, but lucky for me, Va does too! She does this all the time, so since she knows where to go, we’ll go together. Maybe we can tell people we’re getting a blood test because we’re thinking about getting married.

At lunchtime, and after I got home, I walked about snapping pictures of blooms. I guess there were half a dozen new species in bloom since I last checked including spiderwort, striped maple, autumn olive, starflower, and sandspurry. OK, that’s one short of half a dozen. But the serviceberry will bloom prolly tomorrow, and we have a viburnum of some sort that’s ready to go too. Also, I found a painted trillium in my woods. I logged one last year, but only managed one date since I saw it while camping. This year I will be able to monitor its whole cycle. Anyhow, here are the blooms:

Sandspurry (Spergularia spp)

Sandspurry (Spergularia spp)


Autumn Olive (Elaeagnus umbellata)

Autumn Olive (Elaeagnus umbellata)


Spiderwort (Tradescantia virginiana)

Spiderwort (Tradescantia virginiana)


Starflower (Trientalis borealis)

Starflower (Trientalis borealis)


Striped Maple (Acer pensylvanicum)

Striped Maple (Acer pensylvanicum)


Painted Trillium (Trillium undulatum)

Painted Trillium (Trillium undulatum)

