My good friend Cheryl lost her mother last week. While I was busy fixing the dryer last Thursday evening, we got the word that her mother had succombed to a stroke. She had been in the hospital for only a few days.

Cheryl was my Pathfinder club’s director before I took over that position, and she was very good at it. I learned an awful lot from her. She is a very dear friend, and it breaks my heart to know what she’s going through now.

The memorial service was this evening, and our whole family went. It was a lovely service, but for me, the most touching part was when Bette Midler’s “The Rose” was played. That was her mother’s favorite song, and I had never really given it a fair listen until this evening. Here’s the part that got to me:

Just remember in the winter
far beneath the bitter snows
lies the seed that with the sun’s love
in the spring becomes the rose

Powerful stuff!

