Spring Peeper (Pseudacris crucifer) on WIntergreen (Gaultheria procumbuns)

Spring Peeper (Pseudacris crucifer) on WIntergreen (Gaultheria procumbuns)


I saw my first Spring Peeper (Pseudacris crucifer) ever today. These little frogs are loud, so I’ve heard them many times. They are also nocturnal, and as soon as you get close, they shut up. I had seen photos of them before, so when I saw this one on the ground, I recognized it for what it is immediately. I had to chase him around a bit to get his picture. This was the best of three. Now I don’t need to convince the boys to come out to the woods with me after dark and try to triangulate on the peepers with flashlights.

I also got a few nice shots of some Coptis groenlandica, aka goldthread:

Goldthread (Coptis groenlandica)

Goldthread (Coptis groenlandica)

I took a walk at lunch today and found several other new flowers opening, including some Lepidium virgininicum (Poor man’s pepper). That stuff is great. If you strip the seeds off the stem and eat them, they taste very much like black pepper.

