Spring is here at an accelerated pace now. I’m generally finding 3-4 new species of plants in bloom for the first time of the year. Yesterday I noted the following:

Japanese Andromeda (Pieris japonica )
Common Hyacinth (Hyacinthus orientalis)
American Elm (Ulmus americana)
Common Chickweed (Stellaria media)
Forsythia (Forsythia x intermedia)

The first two of these are new plant to me. The Common Hyacinth is what I originally thought must be a crocus, and which Dad thought was a Grape Hyacinth. Dad was way closer than I was! Not until the blooms fully opened was I able to tell that it was the Common Hyacinth rather than Grape. Japanese Andromeda is an ornamental, and my excuse for not knowing that one until this year is that I pretty much ignored cultivated plants for Bloom Clock purposes. This one is clearly a non-native (the name says as much!)

Today I found that the Beaked Hazel trees on my property are in bloom too. These trees have tiny little flowers – male and female:

Male and female Beaked Hazelnut (Corylus cornuta) blossoms

Male and female Beaked Hazelnut (Corylus cornuta) blossoms


I’m not positive, but I think the catkin is male and the red one is female.

The Azalea’s (Rhododendron spp.) also bloomed today. There’s another tree in flower on my property that I still haven’t figured out what it is. I’ll know it when it puts out leaves later, but I don’t yet know it by the flower. These are tiny little flowers no more than an eighth of an inch across (if that).

As yet unknown tree blossom

As yet unknown tree blossom


It thought it might be a Glossy Buckthorn (Frangula alnus), but the photos I’ve found online don’t seem to match exactly. So maybe not. If that’s what it turns out to be, I will rip it out since it’s an invasive species. The state of New Hampshire has declared it a “forbidden” plant, but I’m not sure what that means. Maybe it’s illegal to sell them or cultivate them. I see these things everywhere, and when I find them, and if they’re small enough and if they’re on public property (or my property), I tear them out. The berries are poisonous too, so I say good riddance! I’m just waiting for the day when I get arrested for vandalizing by doing this. I don’t know how much success I would have in convincing a cop that tearing out an invasive plant on public property is a good thing.

