Today when I got to work I decided to walk around the outside of the building to get to the front door instead of just going up the stairs in the back. I checked on some flowers that are getting ready to open (but haven’t yet).
img_0898_small
I’m not sure what these are yet. I know wildflowers native to New Hampshire pretty well, but this is clearly a cultivated plant. Maybe they’re crocuses. I turned around and headed for the the front door when I saw a couple of sparrows. I managed to get one shot off:

Sparrow

Sparrow

When I got home this evening, I went walking about in our woods. I was looking for salamanders and frogs. It was a chilly day, so I didn’t think the odds were all that great of finding either. Butcha won’t find whatcha don’t look for, right? I did find some frogs, but they were a lot younger than I was expecting:

Frog Spawn (really!)

Frog Spawn (really!)


Last time I posted here saying I had found some frog spawn I was dead wrong. Rather, it was a huge bryozoa colony. But this time I’m pretty sure I have frog spawn. Probably from Rana clamitans, but I’ll wait until they hatch before making any such proclamation this time.

I stomped around a little more and took this picture:

Lichen

Lichen


This is a close-up of some lichen. I think the red things are reproductive features, but I’m not sure. That’s one of those things I’ve learned and then forgotten. I’ll look it up again sometime. Dunno the species.

I also took this one:

Moss growing in the crack in a rock

Moss growing in the crack in a rock


I thought it was cool anyhow.

