Today I went to the Subway for lunch. I don’t need to order there any more, because the woman behind the counter already knows what I want: A Veggie patty. Today she told me that they can no longer order those. She expects they will run out sometime next week. This, of course, makes me a very sad person. Subway doesn’t really have anything else that I like all that much. They have taken away my reason for patronizing them. Meanwhile, I have 74 points on my subway card (you get one point per dollar spent). After 75 points, you get a free sub. Joy. I still have to buy one more item, and then I can get a free sub. Hopefully, they will still have my Veggie Patties when I’m ready to “cash in.”

On the way home I figured I’d stop some place and buy a few things. On my list were grass seed (Penny has really torn up the back yard – chasing sticks will do that I suppose), some rechargeable AA batteries, and some mosquito dunks. I stopped at the Ace in Concord.

They had the AA’s, but I’m pretty sure I had seen them elsewhere for about half what they were asking. Pass. They had mosquito dunks too, but only two dunks per pack at $7.50. Pass.

I wanted to get the six-pack version, and even then I’ll need two of them. Mosquito dunks contain a bacteria that infects larval mosquitoes and kills them before they can mature. What’s important to me is that these things do not harm frogs, and apparently they don’t, because I used them last year and we had plenty of frogs right up until freezing weather sent them underground. Or under logs. Or leaves. That’s where frogs go in winter (or so I have read).

Mosquito dunks seemed to have worked out pretty well last year. Our woods are covered with vernal pools in the spring, and we have a catchment pond by the road. Mosquitoes breed in all these places, and even the frogs can’t keep them down. But the dunks seem to put a major dent in their population, even more so than the SkeeterVac we bought a couple of years ago. That thing was nearly worthless.

I think I may try experimenting with my own mosquito traps. I figure that if I cut the top off a 2-liter bottle, turn it over and jam it down in the bottom (like a funnel), that would make a good beginning. Fill that with water, add some sugar and yeast, and set it out. Maybe wrap it in Christmas lights. The yeast convert the sugar and water into CO2 which attracts the mosquitoes (the lights will help in this regard too). They sniff out the CO2 source, fly down into the funnel, and then fail to find their way out again.

Mosquitoes may be a blessing in disguise though. Because of those little buggers, we always have to max out on mosquito dope before we go outside. I always bring an ample supply when we camp or hike too. And because we apply this stuff so religiously, we are pretty well protected from ticks as well.

Which brings me to some news my sister had today – she has most probably contracted Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever (a tick borne illness). She has already started on antibiotics, and I imagine that they caught it plenty early so she will have a positive outcome. I have yet to contract a tick-borne illness, and I think I can credit those flying little blood suckers.

