Today after lunch, Beth and I took Penny for a walk down to Sandogardy Pond. The main reason I wanted to go was so I could see what they had done to the little patch of woods between here and there. It was about as bad as I thought it would be. They did not take every tree, but they very nearly did. I can’t figure out why they would have left some of the ones they did either. They were medium-sized pines, right out in the middle of what was once the woods, with trees cut all around them. I have no idea why they were spared.

Anyhow, I took some pictures, and I dug through my photo archives so I could get a before and after shot. This one is not a great picture, but it’s about the only one I have that shows the woods as they were (the rest I have are close-ups of a moss-covered stump)

Before

Before


And here’s a shot I took today:
After

After

See any difference? Yeah. Thought so.

I did find the beginning of the trail, but it completely disappeared after about 50 feet. It had been obliterated by the equipment they brought in to cut the trees. On our hike back to the house I found the permit they were issued to do the logging.

I really shouldn’t complain about this at all. I mean, I’ve been walking through those woods for four years now and I did enjoy them all this time. The landowner never posted the property, and even now with all the equipment on the premises, it is still not posted. If I were the owner of that land, I would expect I would have the right to harvest the timber too, and I certainly don’t begrudge this landowner for exercising that right.

Also, as I noted yesterday, these woods were pretty much a monoculture – maybe taking out the pines will make room for some flowers. I’ll be sure to check this spring.

