I did take the day off today. I spent most of the day at the church getting it ready for Camp-In. Va joined me at about 10:00am. We hung about 200 linear feet of backdrops. We bought some fake cattails and some floral foam and positioned them near the river (which is depicted in one of the backdrops). We sorted through props. It was an awful lot of work, and we still have a few things to do.

Va is baking “Abigail’s Fig Cakes” right now, and I wish we weren’t taking them with us tomorrow. I think I could eat them all in one sitting by myself. We also decided that what we really needed was a well in the middle of the fellowship hall. We figured we could use a round plastic tub from our basement if we could figure out how to cover it with something to make it look like stone. My first thought was a grey tarp, but I wasn’t real happy with that idea.

I went to Home Depot to look around (and maybe buy a grey tarp). I found the floor section before I found the tarp section though, and they had some linoleum tiles that were supposed to look like paving stones. Cool. I looked at several options until I found a solution that would cost less than $20, and snapped it up.

When I got home, I fetched the tub and started sticking floor tiles to it. The tiles didn’t really want to hold the bend I put in them to make them go around the round surface of the tub, so once I got them in place, I wrapped them with clear packing tape. You can’t tell the tape is there unless you get close to it and really look.

The real dilemma was how to finish off the top. I had decided that the best option would be to turn the tub upside-down (it has sloped sides). I laid the tiles on it so that they extended past the “top” (which is the tub’s bottom). I wanted it to give the rim of the well a 3-D look, and thought about it for a long time before coming up with the approach I finally took – paper mache. I only hope it dries before morning. When it does dry (or when it’s the last minute), I will stick more tiles over the paper mache. We’ll see how that goes.

I STILL have to make the scroll roller thing and sew some tassels onto Ken’s prayer shawl. Plus I need to get ready for Sabbath School tomorrow.

Pastor Cliff should have the sermon tomorrow, and it will be his first time back with our congregation since he had his hip replacement surgery. After that we’ll have potluck, and then I will haul the Pathfinders to a nursing home in Boscawen where we will sing several hymns for the residents. Then we return back to the church and make the final preparations for Camp-In.

