Beth is feeling 100% better today. She had some apple sauce for lunch and held that down OK, so we were greatly cheered by that. She also got some of her usual “bounce” back.

We got about a foot of snow today. It was supposed to start around daybreak and stop around sunset, but by the time I rolled out of bed (around 8:30), there were already six inches of new snow on the ground. Looking at the forecast, I decided it might not be such a great idea to have a Pathfinder meeting, so I cancelled it. Once of my Pathfinders apparently has the same thing Beth did (he attends school with her, so they probably caught it at the same time).

The snow stopped at around 2:00, so I cranked up the snowblower and cleared it off. It was a dry, powdery snow, so it was pretty easy blowin’. I still got a good workout from that though, and I will count it as such.

At about 4:00pm, the whole family piled into the car and we went to Concord. First stop: Joanne’s Fabric. We bought enough cloth for two more tunics and robes, plus I found some really cool buttons for the Roman soldier’s cape:

Roman soldier's button

Roman soldier's button

Isn’t that just perfect? What better way for a Roman soldier to declare his loyalty to Caesar than to have a Caesar button?

Then we went to the Outback to celebrate Va’s birthday. She is now officially as old as I used to be. We hadn’t been there in a while because the food and service had gotten so lousy, and the price seems to have gone up as well. But Va wanted a Bloomin’ Onion, so we gave them another chance. It was pretty good tonight, so maybe we’ll go back again sometime.

Then we swung by the grocery store and then headed home again, home again, jiggity jog. I got busy with the buttons, and by the time I was done with that, it was past Beth’s bedtime. She’s asleep now, and I’m giving serious consideration to the possibility of cranking out a tunic.

