Beth woke me up at about 1:30 last night, as she was not feeling good. She complained of an upset stomach and a stuffy nose, so I went and got her some cold meds. Then she puked all over her bed. I got her cleaned up, and stripped the sheets. Then we sat in her rocker for a while, wrapped in her still fresh blankets. She was shivering uncontrollably, but warmed up in a couple of minutes. I put her in our bed for a little while, but she was still pukey, so I figured maybe I was awake enough to put new sheets on her bed. So I did, and then she got back in there without having spoiled my bed too. She puked several more times in the night, and I was up with her until past 4:30. I went back to bed, but she continued the get up, puke, go back to bed cycle all by herself. She reported eleven trips when I woke up again.

Needless to say, the two of us did not go to church today. Mostly, she’s puking up water, so that’s not too bad. After Va and the boys went on to church, we popped in a video. She watched, I dozed. And then she got up to run to the bathroom, but the border collie in Penny thought it would be a good idea to herd her wherever she was going. That slowed her down, and then Beth puked on the dog. Serves her right! But of course, Penny doesn’t seem to mind at all, and I will be the one to give her a dog bath. Beth had emptied her stomach several hours ago, so the only thing coming up is water. Meaning it’s not nearly as bad as it could have been (for the dog). She doesn’t stink any more than usual at the moment, and I’m still pretty bleary-eyed, so I’m thinking the dog bath can wait.

Every parent know that the hardest part of this is not cleaning puke off the floor, the bed, the carpet, the outside of the commode, or even the dog. Rather, it is watching your precious little loved one suffer and being powerless to make it go away. She is so hungry, but I can’t let her eat anything. She isn’t even holding down water, and it’s breaking my heart to see her this miserable, and the only thing I can do is wait it out.

This too will pass.

Va has an Adventurers meeting after church, so they will be away until at least 3:30. I’d love to go for a hike down to Sandogardy (the temperature has warmed up by 12° in the past four hours – it’s a balmy +6° right now!)

My brother has been tossing cups of boiling water in the air and watching it turn to snow, and it’s gotta be at least 10° in KY where he is. I did that last year when it was 2°, so I KNOW it would be cool to have done it yesterday (too busy at work when it was -17°).

The FedEx guy just delivered the school’s server, and I have to go to work tonight so I won’t be able to spend any quality time with it. Maybe tomorrow. Actually, I’m going to have to wait until Monday, because I’ll need to borrow an external DVD drive with a USB interface (it has no optical drive), and that’s locked in Bill’s office.

Since I’m not at church, someone else will have to tell the children’s story during the worship service. I had picked out a story about a boy who wanted to get a present for his mom’s birthday, but let it creep up on him. Instead, he wrote her a birthday letter, and his mom treasured that more than anything else he would have been able to buy. And why did I choose that story? Maybe because today is Va’s birthday, and I find myself in pretty much the same situation. I had planned to pick her something up during lunch on Thursday or Friday, but work was (and is) so busy I didn’t have time. Anyhow – happy birthday Virginia! You mean the world to me.

