I took a walk around my property today and came across two more tiny evergreens. Here is the first:

Pipsissewa (Chimaphila umbellata)

Pipsissewa (Chimaphila umbellata)


This is Pipsissewa (Chimaphila umbellata), a close relative of wintergreen (which I posted last week). It makes some gorgeous flowers in mid-summer, and this is what they turn into by winter:
Pipsissewa (Chimaphila umbellata)

Pipsissewa (Chimaphila umbellata)


Nice.

As I headed back to the house, I walked by the tiny flower bed we have on the north side of the house. A couple of years ago a friend of mine brought in a plant that he had found in the woods. He wanted to know what it was, and I didn’t know off the top of my head. I did some research and determined that it was Downy Rattlesnake Plantain (Goodyera pubescens).

Goodyera pubescens

Goodyera pubescens

He gave me the plant (in the orchid family), and I popped it in a shady spot at the north end of the house. It did OK all through the remainder of the summer and fall, but I thought winter did it in. It did not come up in the spring. I thought it was a goner. And now I see several of them close to where I planted it. I can only assume that these are its offspring. It did go to seed after all.

Here’s one more from yesterday:

Christmas fern (Polystichum acrostichoides)

Christmas fern (Polystichum acrostichoides)


This is a close-up I took of an individual from the colony of Christmas ferns (Polystichum acrostichoides) I saw on our walk to Devil’s Den yesterday. There was some question about the identity, and I think this should settle it. I was uncertain as to its id, and suspected it was Christmas fern. But I’m a bit more sure now. It’s laying on the ground, and the blade tapers near the base.

Also… it’s an evergreen.

